Webcode: 01012636

The President

The President is the chairman of the Chamber Assembly and the Board. He functions in the role of employer with regard to the Chamber's employees and is at the same time senior supervisor and the highest authority for the civil servants who work in the Chamber.

The President and another member of the Board represent the Chamber of Agriculture in both judicial and non-judicial matters, but not in issues concerning the day-to-day running and general duties.

The President is elected by the Chamber Assembly for a three-year period. His main occupation must be in agriculture.

Since 10 February 2015, the post of President of the Chamber of Agriculture Lower Saxony has been occupied by Gerhard Schwetje. He is a professional agriculturalist and runs an arable farm with cereal und sugar beet production in Cramme (district of Wolfenbüttel). His involvement with the Chamber goes back over many years in various committees of the Chambers in Hanover and Lower Saxony. At least he was the deputy to the Chamber President since 2009.

The deputies to the Chamber President are forester Heinrich Grupe from Deensen (district of Holzminden) and the farmer Hermann Hermeling from Salzbergen (district of Emsland).

Heinrich Grupe works as a professional forester at the Lower Saxony Forestry Office in Dassel. He has been a member of the Chamber Assembly Hanover/Lower Saxony since 1991 and he represents the interests of employees working in agriculture. Since 2009 Heinrich Grupe has been the deputy to the Chamber President.

Hermann Hermeling is an agricultural engineer and runs an arable farm with pig breeding, cereal and maize production and biogas. He has been a member of the Chamber Assembly in Lower Saxony since 2009 and has been involved in the committees for cattle breeding and renewable energies.

Under the constitution, the Chamber President and a representative are members of voting group 1 and the other representative is part of voting group 2.

Stand: 25.07.2016